STUDIO TOUR GOODNESS

I participated in my first Chester County Studio Tour last weekend and it was a blast! Despite the rain, there was steady traffic of art enthusiasts, collectors, friends (old and new) and just nice, interested people.

I keep thinking about one collector who came in with her friends and while they were very talkative, she was so quiet and just kept staring at the painting shown above, Every Flower Has a Silver Cloud. I began talking with her and she shared with me that she had suffered a painful loss and the line of ovals in the painting combined with the imagery seemed to symbolize the before and after of her life after that loss. In turn, I shared with her a painful loss that had taken place in my life and that my work often consists of contrasting imagery which marks that event and the growth that often takes place after one experiences such an event.

I am so pleased that the painting touched her in such a deeply personal way and that it will now be a part of her collection, always reminding her of her strength and continued growth. I have had conversations like this with other collectors and it is always so good to know that there is a reason why I am making this work and that it does affect and help others in positive ways as I hope it will.

I am so grateful to Jeff Schaller for the opportunity to camp out on his lawn and show my work during this wonderful event!

Leave a Reply

